Thai “selek” noodles

On my last trip in bangkok, I brought back some I had the “selek” noodles from Bangkok. This is a Thai noodles, that you can find no matter where you go, from the streets to restaurants. It was served  as one of the food item in my hotel buffet dinner as well. In every visit, I will asked my colleague to bring me to the streets to try out the noodles. The noodles cooked by a street hawker fares better than the ones from hotels despite the hot weather.

DSC012942I fall in love with the noodle on my first trip in Thailand, and I still love it until today. Even my wife love it when she come over for a visit couple of years back. She is the one who has been pestering me to bring back a bag of noodles for our family to try. Unfortunately, the noodles cannot be keep for long. My colleagues keep on reminding me that I need to finish the pack within 2 weeks. This is not a completely dried  noodles. If we look closely into the packing, one will observe moisture inside the bag.

thai selek noodles

My mum helped to brew a soup with some meat and anchovies. She added a lot of fish ball as well for both her grandsons who loves fish ball. They can forget about their main meals with fish ball alone.

DSC013012

We added some kangkung, beansprout and some Thai grounded chilis to season with the noodles. Overall, it is not bad, but not as appetizing as the ones I had at Bangkok. I guess I have to bring back a recipe on my next visit. Nevertheless, Kenji boy is still having a great time with the fish balls.

q

About Andrew

I'm a fatty hubby to my wifey, a naughty daddy to my baby and a witty guy for my friends!
This entry was posted in Family, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thai “selek” noodles

  1. Hayley says:

    Thai selek noodles, the name is new to me, but the noodles looks familiar, hehe.

  2. never heard of this.. is it like ‘keow teow’?

  3. vickylow says:

    The noodles look very QQ, Tiong Tiong texture wor.

  4. I do not know about this selek noodles! Although I may have eaten it before haha! Ooh! Got panda!! OK, will buy this noodle next time I go Bangkok! : )

  5. Merryn Tan says:

    I’ve not heard about selek noodles before neither have I been to Bangkok 😦

  6. suituapui says:

    Ooooo…I wish I could try that! With fish balls? I like!!! I would cook glass noodles (tung hoon) with fish balls.

  7. Barbara Ng says:

    oh this one looks like vermicelli? maybe i should get some to try too 🙂

  8. Ipohgal says:

    I think using tom yam soup is better than ikan bilis!

  9. yan says:

    Ho chiak! I like those chili powder putting in noodle soup very much.

  10. Poh Huai Bin says:

    I had this on my last night in Bangkok too! I chose this noodle to go with a pork noodle dish (they also had oil noodles and the instant noodles that’s everywhere in Bangkok).

    I love this noodles! 🙂

  11. Yee Ling says:

    This is how the packaging looks like…Love this noodles too. I don’t think we can get it here.

  12. Mery says:

    Never hav this noodle before. How is the taste like?

Leave a Comment

