Of monkey and hill hiking

We have a book about 5 monkey that teaches children about counting. Kenji boy loves the book very much, and that is where he learn to count from 1 to 5. When we made a trip to Penang, I told him that I will bring him to see the real monkey. Where is the easiest place to find monkey other than botanical park Penang. Before we made our way to Penang, we had a hearty dim sum breakfast at House of Dim Sum (点心之家). The dim sum here is very nice, and the price is almost half of what we need to pay at Ipoh.

After the heavy meal, we drove to Botanical garden for some exercises and get Kenji boy to see some real monkeys. The garden offered tram services for those who are lazy to walk, but since we are so full after breakfast, we decided to walk around the park. Moreover, I think it is more easier to spot the monkeys during a walk.

There are a lot of tourists taking the tram though…

We have walked for more than an hour there, but disappointed to found no monkeys playing around. I remember that I used to see a lot of monkeys at the side of the road when I was here few years back. Or probably that the monkeys are still sleeping as it was only 10am in the morning. Anyway, the walkway was well maintained, and it was fun walking around there with my boy. Here is him, curious on a puddle of water on the road, and try to step onto the puddle.

After an hour there without any traces of the monkeys, we decided to call it the end of our visit there as it was getting hot, and we are perspiring like crazy. Fortune strikes when we made our way back to the entrance. We saw a few of them playing on the grass just next to the entrance.

Kenji is the happiest of all. He kept pointing to the creatures, telling me “monkey”. He even tried to run to them, but luckily wifey manage to caught hold of him. Mummy told him that he can only watch the monkey at that distance. I’m glad we finally get to spot some that day, and I’m more than happy to find out that Kenji recognize the monkey even though he only saw them from the book before. Children are smart nowadays!

Cheers and have a great weekend!

About Andrew

I'm a fatty hubby to my wifey, a naughty daddy to my baby and a witty guy for my friends!
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Of monkey and hill hiking

  1. Hayley says:

    Aicks my comment went missing!! >=(

    Can go gai gai, sure Kenji boy is happy!
    But some elderly does believe not to let kids see monkeys, you heard about this?

  2. 1st time there in 1978…and I went there again around 2008/2009, I think. I blogged about it here:
    http://suituapui.wordpress.com/2009/09/01/fun-fun-fun/

  3. yan says:

    I spotted your lovely wife holding the very sweet and lovely Naraya bag that you bought in Thailand. Nice pick!

    • Andrew says:

      My wife had quite a number of Naraya bags due to my frequent visit to Thailand for business. But this is not the one that I’m buying for her birthday 🙂

  4. Chloe'sMummy says:

    The monkeys here are very aggressive if you have food with you. My niece was eating an ice cream when a monkey swung by from nowhere and grabbed it from her. Brought Chloe there 2 years ago and we just took the tram. Too lazy to walk haha..

    • Andrew says:

      Yes, few years back, I saw a monkey snatch a camera away from a tourist. When visiting such places with lot of monkey, do exercise precaution with belongings.

  5. oh ya.. I remembered bring Princess here, and she was too young to recognise that! Kenji boy very clever!!!

  6. vickylow says:

    I only dare to see monkey from far. I’m so afraid to get near them, sometime really hard to predict their wild behaviour.

  7. Wah! Drooling at the dim sum! Delicious and cheap is always good!!

  8. It’s been a long time since I visited the Botanical Gardens in Penang. I remember seeing some monkeys at that time. But nowadays I frequently see monkeys at the park where I go jogging. They are everywhere! : )

  9. I’m sure Kenji enjoyed seeing those monkeys! So what will you bring him to see next? Tigers? : D

  10. Yee Ling says:

    Nice outing there with your lovely family. The boy surely have lots of fun.

Leave a Comment

