Teaching him to appreciate

Ever since he is young, it is our common sense to give him whatever he wanted, be it toys or foods. Lately, he would whine and cry when we refused to give in to him. I want my child to be happy but I want him to learn to appreciate and love everything we gave. There are some questions that I seriously ponder lately.

” Am I giving in to him too much?”

“Should I stop accommodating him and make him abide my orders?”

Last weekend, he asked me to help him to pick up his ball that he  had thrown from the dining table. I frowned at him, telling him that he shouldn’t throw anything. He pleaded again, and mummy told him,” Say please papa”

“Please papa”, he said cheekily.

I was overwhelmed, and quickly pick up the ball for him. “Say thank you papa”, my wife continued.

“Thank you”, he giggled to which I responded with a “welcome”.

This is how we started. We continue to practice “please”, “thank you” and “welcome” for the weekend. Sometimes, I myself forgot to mention a simple “please” when I asked him to pick up his toys. It was my wife who constantly reminds me of my manners. Seems like this will be a long journey for us to practice  our manners.

Big bad wolf has came to Penang. I’m going to hunt it down to see whether there are any children books that assist in manners teaching.

Image courtesy of google search

About Andrew

I'm a fatty hubby to my wifey, a naughty daddy to my baby and a witty guy for my friends!
This entry was posted in Education, Kenji and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Teaching him to appreciate

  1. Poh Huai Bin says:

    Nice parenting tips! Yeah always good to have the little ones practice their P’s and Q’s. I’ll keep that in mind! 😀

  2. Barbara Ng says:

    It’s good to start as early as possible 🙂 children these days are too pampered 😛

  3. Chris Hall says:

    I have been saying please and thank you to Jaydon for several months. Now he is starting to say them when he wants something and after receiving what he wanted. At 2-years-old I think now is the prefect time to teach good manners. Right now is when they tend to mimic everything we say and do.

  4. suituapui says:

    Always insist on good manners, good morning and all. Traditional parents usually just left these to chance.

  5. vickylow says:

    Good parenting. Sometime I forgot to say it my boy will tell me “mommy say thank you.”

  6. yan says:

    Good luck in your books hunting. Yeah! Parents always the first teacher and role model for the child.

  7. This is the problem bringing up children. The parents got to be role model cos the child will always copy what the adults do! Good luck! : )

  8. Merryn Tan says:

    It’s important to use those ‘magic’ words. Let them know that without those magic words, things wont get done. After some time, it will be a good habit instilled in them and they’ll use those words naturally. You are a good father model.

  9. Ipohgal says:

    Well done, Daddy and Mommy!

Leave a Comment

