A wonderful afternoon with darling @ Burps and Giggles

This restaurant have been the talk of the town since months ago. Everyone who is related to Ipoh should know about this restaurant by now due to the vast amount of sharing at Facebook. A day before I depart to Bangkok, darling and I was figuring out where should we go for our lunch, and I proposed here since we haven’t been here before.

It took us some time to find the restaurant. For those who haven’t been here, the lane towards this restaurant is located in the middle of the two most famous coffee shop in ipoh aka Thean Chun and Kong Heng. Here is my darling posing in the lane in between the two restaurants. Behind her is the famous satay stall.

Just before the entrance, we spotted a beautiful english girl on an old school bicycle. We have heard of the beautiful street arts in Penang, now we have one in Ipoh too.

This restaurant is inspired by the same owner of the Ipoh famous indulgence aka Julie Song. The ambiance of the restaurant is relaxing with a touch of nature. Those trees in the middle of the place are real. A group of friends can just sit here and chat away.

This restaurant do not have a menu book. Their menu is all on the wall. We have to go to the wall to look at the menu and order our food and drinks. They serve a great variety of burgers…

…and pastries.

Darling ordered their Jammy. From the menu, its an angus beef patties with jalapenos, tomatoes, cheese and onions. I found it very nice but wifey found it a little bit too spicy to her liking due to the sheer amount of black pepper they used on the beef patties.

I was intrigued by the name of curry chic bomb, and ordered one of this. This is actually a curry chicken pastry, with a sheer amount of meat inside this bun.

And we also ordered some fried to supplement our meals. Darling commented that she used to use this type of mug to rinse her mouth after brushing her teeth in her earlier years. I recalled my grandma owned such mug too, where it was used to put her dentures before bedtime.

Not forgetting some drinks to complement the meals. Darling ordered a drink called magnolia ugly, which I do not know the content. I took a sip, and my quick guess is a mixture of pineapple, apple, and possibly orange blended.

The bill came as Rm54.10 – affordable considering the relaxing environment and the wonderful food that we have. I would say that their setup is very nice with those up-cycle furniture and warm lighting. We will certainly come here again.

About Andrew

I'm a fatty hubby to my wifey, a naughty daddy to my baby and a witty guy for my friends!
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Personal, Uncategorized, Wifey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A wonderful afternoon with darling @ Burps and Giggles

  1. Hayley says:

    Very special! I’d really love to try it someday!

  2. suituapui says:

    Ummmm…nice food, nice place…not cheap though…but it’s ok. Should pamper ourselves once in a while – feels real good.

  3. nice place… now even Ipoh has got venture into this kind of food place! great for younger generations!! 😀 oh… I know that mug too! use to play drum with it!

  4. I like the name of the place!

  5. bodhimoments says:

    My grandparents used to use similar mugs to keep their dentures!!!! 🙂

  6. Reana Claire says:

    I must go and look see one day… wonder if it opens in the night.. i guess it does, right? Thanks for sharing, Andrew.. now got one extra place to explore in Ipoh.. 🙂

  7. Poh Huai Bin says:

    The curry chicken pastry looks interesting!

    Hey, my grandma used that mug to drink tea from, so did I when I was a kid. Heh.

    Good to see the interactive street art in Ipoh, might head over sometime and we can makan together. Cheers! 🙂

  8. yan says:

    This post has STP’s style, because the food pictures look good. Nice ambience.

  9. Looks like a nice restaurant! Oh so weird, those fried placed in that mug? : D

  10. Ipohgal says:

    I love Marilyn Monroe on that old bicycle!! Must go over one day… for some light meals and photography. 🙂

  11. kathy says:

    LOL will bookmark this place to visit

  12. vickylow says:

    Very special restaurant. The decor is nice too.

  13. Barbara Ng says:

    hey, the last time I walked past the alley, the beautiful English girl wasn’t there 🙂 i love this concept and the decor very much!

  14. Yee Ling says:

    Must bookmark this place next time I go Ipoh. Love the dining experience…feel so cozy.

  15. zeyu says:

    hey, can you please tell me where’s the restaurant is?! What’s the name!?

Leave a Comment

