A day to remember

I’m finally back to work. I was at Penang last weekend attending my brother wedding dinner (wife’s side). My parents will be staying at Kampar, preparing the necessary at the grooms’s side. As the eldest, me and my wife represent my parents to join the dinner at Penang. I was tasked to give my brother blessings and wear the coat for him on his wedding day. My brother has finally grown up and is on his way to set up his own family now.

 

The “heng dai” (brothers in cantonese) have been supportive, and are more than willing to do whatever the ji mui (sister in cantonese) is asking. They even had to carry my brother from the ground floor to the second floor. Mind you, my brother weighted more than 80kg, but they manage to carry him with 4 person.

 

 

The last part that need to be done is a Gangnam style dance. Yes, they have to dance all the way to the bride’s door. A little bit of Gangnam style overdose!

About Andrew

I'm a fatty hubby to my wifey, a naughty daddy to my baby and a witty guy for my friends!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A day to remember

  1. Yee Ling says:

    It is always great to be a part of the special occasion

  2. Yan says:

    So much fun at your brother’s wedding. You and your brother also married quite young eh!

  3. vickylow says:

    Congrats to your bro, the newly married couple.

  4. Ipohgal says:

    Doing Gangnam Style at a wedding? Wow, that’s cool!

  5. yorkmei23 says:

    Congrats to your brother!
    Gangnam style is a trend these days, if all the heng dai and bridegroom can do this together, must be cool and fun!

  6. Barbara Ng says:

    hahhaa…the gangnam style dance must be very funny. your brother looks so young 😛

  7. Poh Huai Bin says:

    I love this tradition! There’s a lot in Sarawak too, although it’s not our original custom. I was heng tai for a couple of my friends, most tasks are fun, there was once someone put heaps of wasabi into kampua and I had to eat the entire plate.

    I can eat a lot of wasabi but that gave me indigestion. 😡

    Congrats to your brother Andrew! 🙂

  8. suituapui says:

    Your brother? Looks like you…like twins! I don;t know how this hengtai practice started – definitely not a traditional practice during my days. Will certainly not allow it if my daughter gets married. Would keep weddings sweet and romantic, solemn, formal and grand – not crazy like that…no class at all.

  9. I always take pity on the groom when come to wedding day… but nevertheless, guess everyone enjoys that moment… :p I am one culprit that loves to torture the groom and his heng tai… ppl say ah, you don’t show colour on the wedding day on behalf of the bride, the bride will get bully after marriage.. must show how ‘geng’ is the ‘chi mui’.. :p

Leave a Comment

