Of national day celebration

I was at Taiwan last month, and my supplier brought me to the Chiang Kai Shek memorial hall. Nothing worth shouting about this place. It is a grand building with Chiang Kai Shek’s giant statue at one of the chambers. The monument was erected in memory of Chiang Kai Shek, the former president of China. The surroundings are basically a large and open garden, with ample grounds for people to walk and children running around. This place is easily accessible by MRT.

The Chiang Kai Shek memorial hall

We walked around the garden. Nothing really caught my attention until I saw this. There are a lot of people taking photographs below the entrance. I walked closer and made out the name of the entrance as “自由广场” or Freedom Square in English. I asked her why it was named in such a way. She related to me that this is a place where the opposition party have their public talks and gathering. The authority will not bother with them as long as they apply for permits, and do not cause any havoc.

自由广场 or the freedom square

“How about your country?”, he asked out of a sudden. “We have it too, but we do not have a dedicated place to do that like Taiwan,”I replied with my mind still figuring hard on my next statement. “We call the event Bersih which means clean”, I continued.

“Can people voice out their opinion there openly without getting caught”, he continue asking. “Unfortunately, some people will get caught,” I sheepishly replied. “Here, we don’t”, he replied promptly.

Some thoughts ran through my mind that day. A lot of “why” are striking through at the back of my mind in a sudden. Some memories from the last Bersih event flashed by. My heart is heavy, thinking of the future of my own country. Hopefully, things will change for the better soon.

We are celebrating our 55th birthday today. I wish the country continues to prosper, blessed with bountiful of wealth, and people continue to live in peace.

About Andrew

I'm a fatty hubby to my wifey, a naughty daddy to my baby and a witty guy for my friends!
This entry was posted in Rant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Of national day celebration

  1. suituapui says:

    “…If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself…” (DESIDERATA)

  2. Ipohgal says:

    Taiwan is so much better than here. At least they won’t get tear gassed when they got to the streets! 🙂

  3. Merryn Tan says:

    We do have Dataran Merdeka right? Freedom Square translated to BM is Dataran Merdeka lah.. 😀

  4. Hmm, I think Taiwan better than us, more freedom. Well, I still love Malaysia! LOL

Leave a Comment

