Father’s Day – A tribute to my Dad

This Monday makes no difference compare to the Monday’s before. I woke up, doing my usual routine. I take a look at Kenji boy and give him a peck on his chubby cheeks while he snored away like a little train. He looks so adorable. A deep sentiments of sadness enveloped me, thinking that I will be leaving him for a week again.

Dragging my feet to the front door, I heard the downstair bedroom door cracked open. It was my dad.ย Ever since I’ve been driving to work in the wee hours of the morning, dad never fail to wake up, and send me to the door, wishing a safe journey ahead. He often told me that ย he just wake up for a pee, but deep in my heart, I know that he is waking up on purpose to send me to the door, hoping that God will bless me throughout my journey back to Penang.

He will continued to stand at the door, watching me to pack my things into the car, and occasionally gave out a yawn. I looked at him. He is no longer my strong and well built daddy, I once knew. His hairs has turned grey, and his well toned body has lose its firmness, while at most of the areas, wrinkle has taken place. But I knew his love to me has never changed. Though I have my own family and have taken his place as the breadwinner of the house, the way he loves and cares remains the same. I know that I will always be his small boy forever.ย There’s an old chinese saying that goes like,”Raising a child for 100 years, you will be worrying until you are 99 years old”. This is very true, at least to me.

I pray that my dad will enjoy a healthy and live a long enough life, to see his grandchildren growing up. I would like to take this chance to wish all daddy around the world a Happy Father’s Day. To all children, treasure your parents while they are still alive in this world. Don’t forget to spend more time with them, tell them how much you love and miss them, just like how we did when we are young and innocent.

Dad, mum and wifey at Kuching Cultural Village 2009

About Andrew

I'm a fatty hubby to my wifey, a naughty daddy to my baby and a witty guy for my friends!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Father’s Day – A tribute to my Dad

  1. Poh Huai Bin says:

    Loved reading this post, very touching and heartwarming at the same time.

    …and now you have a son to call you dad. ๐Ÿ™‚

    The happy cycle goes on, I want that too, but I can’t be actively looking, I’ll know when the right person comes along.

    All the best Andrew and Ice! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Andrew says:

    Thanks. Yes, you will know when the right person comes along. All the best to you and your family too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Merryn Tan says:

    It’s great you and your Dad are still living under the same roof. My parents are back in hometown and I see them like once a month ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Happy Father’s Day to you and Kenji is blessed to have you as his dad ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Barbara Ng says:

    What a heartwarming post. All parents worry about their children ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you had a wonderful Father’s Day weekend with your family.

  5. Andrew says:

    Thanks Barb. I do enjoy my father’s day with Kenji and wifey as my companions ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Comment

